Opportunity Looks a Lot Like Hard Work

BloggingIt’s REEEEDICULOUS how much money you can make blogging!

<<< Click here for details

“Opportunity Looks a Lot Like Hard WORK.” ~ Ashton Kutcher

I’ve never been one to give much credibility to Hollywood personalities. I find most of them to be ill-informed, shallow, overly opinionated narcissists, most of whom show little or no discernible talent other than looking good in front of a camera. Oh, you think that might be a little harsh? Let me just throw a few names out there then: Kim Kardashian. Kristen Stewart. Keanu Reeves. Snooki. Conan O’Brien. Rosie O’Donnell (okay, not all of them look good in front of a camera). Pretty much anyone named Baldwin. Paris Hilton. Do you see my point now?

Having said that, I also like to give credit where credit is due and once in a while someone Chris-Ashton-Kutcher-Teen-Choice-Awards-Acceptance-Speechin Hollywood actually does something noteworthy. Such was the case last week at the Teen Choice Awards. No, I didn’t watch it, but I heard about the speech he gave and thought it was worth sharing. I did listen to it on Youtube and it’s difficult to hear all of it for all the screaming, cheering mindless teenage girls in the audience that erupt into a screaming frenzy after each sentence and likely missed most, if not all of the message due to their enamored state. Not that, even if they were giving their undivided attention, it would have done them any good. Let’s face it, for the most part teenage girls are notorious for making their choices totally based on emotions and rarely on reason, which is why so many of them end up choosing losers who treat them like crap, but that’s for another blog.

What Kutcher had to say was really timely for today’s society of entitlement mentality. I’m not going to transcribe the entire speech, it’s available to listen to all over the internet, just search “Ashton Kutcher speech”, but I do want to share the high points.

Kutcher began by explaining that his real name is ‘Chris’ and that ‘Ashton’ is his middle name. He changed his name when he became an actor at age 19. He went on to say, he learned a lot when his name was ‘Chris” mainly that “Opportunity looks a lot like hard work”.

“I believe that opportunity looks a lot like hard work,” Kutcher began with his first point. “When I was 13, I had my first job with my dad carrying shingles up to the roof, and then I got a job washing dishes at a restaurant, and then I got a job in a grocery store deli, and then I got a job at a factory sweeping Cheerio dust off the ground.”

He went on: “And I’ve never had a job in my life that I was better than. I was always just lucky to have a job. And every job I had was a stepping stone to my next job, and I never quit my job until I had my next job. And so opportunities look a lot like work.”

Kutcher concluded his speech with “Everything around us that we call life was made up of people that are no smarter than you,” he said. “And you can build your own things, you can build your own life that other people can live in. So build a life — don’t live one, build one.”

Those are pretty sage words to be delivered to a group of mindless teeny-boppers. Hopefully a few of them will understand the message and take it to heart. The message reminds me of an old quote attributed to Thomas Jefferson when he said, “I’m a great believer in luck, and I find that the harder I work, the more I have of it.”

Hard workThe message is essentially the same. If you want something good out of life, don’t sit around waiting for it to happen – make it happen. The message applies equally to our business lives as it does to our personal lives. Are you making it happen or are you waiting for it to happen? Whatever you want out of your life or your business, working hard is your best bet towards achieving it.

About montyrainey

Public Speaker and District Manager. Mission: To empower and inspire others professionally, personally and spiritually to elevate their lives to a higher level.
This entry was posted in Business, Motivation, Opportunity, Success, Work and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

