Change = Opportunity

Change has a considerable psychological impact on the human mind. To the fearful it is threatening because it means that things may get worse. To the hopeful it is encouraging because things may get better. To the confident it is inspiring because the challenge exists to make things better. ~ King Whitney Jr.

One of the things many people fear most in life is change. Anxiety often stops us from taking action in our lives and makes us resist change by stirring up fears of what is not known. Often certainty is more comfortable than uncertainty. The anxiety underlying our fear of change leads to other more specific fears that support a resistance to change. However, since change is one of the constants of life, having an unhealthy fear of change often attracts the very action we feared to begin with and our fears become a self-fulfilling prophecy.

The sad part is, all it takes to learn to embrace change is – yes, you guessed it – to make a change; a mindset change. When we embrace and truly understand the concept that change brings opportunity and growth and except the old adage that “without change, nothing ever changes”, we begin to see change for what it truly is – a new beginning, a chance to start anew and the opportunity to prove your worth.

Today I begin the position of District Manager for The Jenkins Organization – a rapidly growing self storage company that can put my abilities and skill sets to good use as they reach for the next level. This is an opportunity I readily embrace, even though I know I will sacrifice an incredible amount of hours to accomplish my mission, I welcome the challenge with open arms. Not because I’m a workaholic that wants to sacrifice my time, but because I have a new opportunity to be a part of something much bigger than me – I get the opportunity to build, coach, mentor and lead a team to new heights, and that really gets me excited like nothing else!

But this change ahead isn’t just about me. It is also about the team members already in place. Each one of them has a choice to make as they face the inevitable change life has thrown at them. They can have a wholesale resistance to this change. They can rise each morning wishing things would go back to the way they once were when life was comfortable and they knew the routine, or they can embrace this change as a golden opportunity to reach for a level they never thought possible.

I cannot make their choice for them, but I can say this, “Change is coming. Not just the change of a new District Manager, but change in every aspect of the world around us. Change will never stop. Don’t fear change. Look for the opportunity that comes with it.” I’m going to chart a course for success for this team. I know how to do that, but I also know charting a course will get you nowhere without a top notch crew to set the sails. I hope the crew in place is ready for the challenge – ready to embrace the many changes and challenges that lie ahead, and ready to seek out the opportunities this change will bring.

Let’s do this!

About montyrainey

Public Speaker and District Manager. Mission: To empower and inspire others professionally, personally and spiritually to elevate their lives to a higher level.
This entry was posted in Change, Leadership, Opportunity, Self Storage, Team Building and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Change = Opportunity

  1. scmathcoach says:

    Thanks for linking my blog to this!

  2. pymette says:

    hi! thanks for the link 🙂 ~leanna

  3. Pingback: Ready? To Let Go and Embrace! « A Kiss Of Bliss

Leave a Reply

