Get Out the Vote

“The world will not be destroyed by those who do evil, but by those who watch them without doing anything.” ~ Albert Einstein

In case you haven’t been paying attention, there is an election coming up in November. Virtually every election cycle you hear politicians and pundits repeat the words, “This is the most important election of our lifetime.” Well, this time, it just may be true. Here in Texas the deadline to register to vote in the November election is October 9th. To find out when the voter registration deadline is in your state go to http://www.longdistancevoter.org and click on “Deadlines”. Most people have about another 6 weeks to get it done and you can even register online so there simply is no excuse not to take an active part in the future of our nation. Without casting your vote, you are being the person Einstein referred to in his quote. DON’T BE THAT GUY!

Those who know me know that my political persuasion is somewhere just to the right of Attila the Hun, so I’m not going to discuss how I think you should vote, but I just want to impress upon you the importance of making your voice heard and pass along some food for thought before you make your voting decision.

If you believe as I do, that our great country is headed in the wrong direction, do something about it.

If you believe as I do that putting weapons in the hands of Mexican drug cartels is a bad idea and those who made that decision, which cost American lives, should be held accountable, then do something about it.

If you believe as I do that capitalism works every time it is left alone and communism fails every time, then do something about it.

If you believe as I do that taxes are too high in order to pay for out of control government spending and subsidy programs to support those who choose not to work, then do something about it.

If you believe as I do that those here illegally should not be rewarded for breaking our laws, then do something about it.

If you believe as I do that it is better to teach a person to fish than it is to give a person a fish, then do something about it.

If you believe as I do that Islamic Jihad mass murderers like Nidal Hasan should be brought to swift and certain justice and not pandered to by an inept justice department for over 3 years, then do something about it.

If you believe as I do that government regulations are choking business and stifling economic growth, do something about it.

If you believe as I do that the office of the President should be filled by someone who is proud of America and will not apologize to foreign dictators for our greatness and success, then do something about on November 6th. Let’s make a bold statement that America’s greatest days are yet to come.

About montyrainey

Public Speaker and District Manager. Mission: To empower and inspire others professionally, personally and spiritually to elevate their lives to a higher level.
This entry was posted in First Amendment, government, Politics, Second Amendment and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Get Out the Vote

  1. Jim Sandler says:

    Monty:

    I am appalled that you would use your business forum to promote your political agenda. I believe that one’s political beliefs should be just that (personal)! I have been a subscriber of your newsletter, but will refrain going forward. You use words like Team Building, Virtue, Compromise, Integrity, Character, etc. You should also use words like Privacy, Discretion & Compassion as watchwords and virtues to strive for.

    • montyrainey says:

      Jim, if you read my “About” page, it clearly states that from time to time I may write something political. I don’t often write about political subjects, but when I see our great nation in the pitiful shape it has deteriorated into during the current administration, not only am I inclined to speak my voice, but as a patriot, it is also my obligation.

Leave a Reply

