I miss you, Dad

Dear Dad,

It’s been two years since God called you home and I miss you and think of you every day. There isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t thank God for giving me you as my father. He picked you to be in charge of shaping the foundation of my life. It was yet another display of His perfect wisdom, for I shudder to think of my life with a lesser man to mentor and guide me.

I believe the greatest thing we will ever possess on this earth are the virtues that make us who we are and through your shining display of character, honor, integrity, commitment and values you provided me with a rock solid foundation with which to build my life and be a positive force on those around me. I can never thank you enough for that. I pray that the virtues with which I now live my life are thanks enough.

I cherish those wonderful nights now when you visit me in my dreams. They’re always the same. In them I am always either a young boy or still a young man and you are always the strong man I remember, long before the disease destroyed your body. In them we are hunting together, or planting crops, or packing the bearings on a farm trailer, but always you are guiding me and teaching me.

Dad, I’m almost glad you left when you did and are not here to see what’s happening to our world. In just the two years since you left, things have gotten much worse. I’m afraid there were not enough men like you teaching younger men like me how to stand up for what’s right at all costs, how to put in a fair day’s work, how to be self-sufficient and never ask for a hand out. Mostly, how to be people of strong virtues.

I know you’re not worried about any of us kids, and there’s no need to be. You taught us well how to handle adversity and bounce back, how to survive any situation, and how to stand firm on the morals you taught us. We’ll be fine.

Please pass along my love and prayers to grandmother and granddad and all of the other loved ones who are there with you. When the Lord calls me home, we’ll spend eternity enjoying our new perfect bodies God has made for us. I’ll see you then, dad, but in the meantime, I hope to see you often in my dreams. I love you and miss you.

_______________________________________________________

Monty Rainey is a District Manager working in the self storage industry since 1996 and currently overseeing 13 stores in the San Antonio, TX area. He is also a leadership coach and public speaker. For a free consultation, please contact Monty at 830-743-2139 or visit his website at http://www.montyrainey.com .

About montyrainey

Public Speaker and District Manager. Mission: To empower and inspire others professionally, personally and spiritually to elevate their lives to a higher level.
This entry was posted in Character, Influence, Integrity, Virtue and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

