The Power of HOW

“Whether you think that you can or you think that you can’t, you’re usually right.” ~ Henry Ford

Henry Ford’s famous quote is all about mindset. Anytime we are faced with challenges in life, how we view those challenges often determines the outcome. This is when I like to implement what I call the power of “how”. How has to be one of the most powerful words in our lexicon. This makes it imperative that we learn to use how effectively.

Consider this; you’re faced with one of life’s challenges that seem insurmountable. There’s just no easy answer, no way to make it work out. Often our conscious mind tells us can’t; in the form of “this can’t work”, or “I can’t do this”. If that is what our mind tells us, as Henry Ford correctly surmises, we’re done. Progress has reached an impass. We have to make the effort to change our thinking and change can’t into how. “How can I make this work?” or “How can I do this?”

The answer may not come right away, in fact it probably won’t. Remember, this is a life challenge. It isn’t going to be an easy solution or else it wouldn’t be much of a challenge, would it? But by asking the how question,, we set our subconscious mind into motion seeking a solution. It may take days, weeks, months, even years, but if we keep asking the how question, eventually, if there is a solution, our subconscious mind will find it and in a moment of revelation, it will come to us when we least expect it. “Why didn’t I think of that sooner”, we will ask, and we may even be curious as to why the solution popped into our head at that particular moment. The answer is because even though the problem may have been the furthest thing from our mind at that particular moment, because we asked the how question, our subconscious mind was busy searching for a solution. That’s just the way the human mind works. Our subconscious mind will always to find the solution and work out life’s challenges.

When we face challenges, we must know that we can and then if we don’t have an immediate solution, we must put the power of how to work finding a solution. What kind of challenges are you facing right now and how can you put the power of how to work for you?

___________________________________________________________

Monty Rainey is a District Manager with over 14 years in the self storage industry currently overseeing 21 stores in the Austin & San Antonio, TX area. He is also a leadership coach and public speaker. For a free consultation, please contact Monty at 830-743-2139 or visit his website at http://www.montyrainey.com .

About montyrainey

Public Speaker and District Manager. Mission: To empower and inspire others professionally, personally and spiritually to elevate their lives to a higher level.
This entry was posted in Achievement, Leadership, Motivation, self improvement and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Power of HOW

  1. thecoachlee says:

    One of my all time favorite quotes. Of course it helps when you have a written plan of action instead of Playing Captain Wing It thus spraying your actions all over the place and the praying something will stick. A funny thing about success and failure, they both start and end in the same place – between the ears.

  2. You might have heard of this Monty, if not I’d like to share with you something I heard 3 years ago that began me thinking my thoughts to begin with “how” or “what”. It was by Earl Nightingale and called “The Strangest Secret”. If you have not heard this, instead of me decribing what entails, listen to it. I also learned about the power of asking “How” along with personal accountability through his book, QBQ, The Question Behind The Question by John G. Miller. He taught me to start asking good questions beginning with “how” & “what” instead of why, who or when. I highly recommend this easy to read outstanding book to all those I see struggling. I wish that I can turn our Government onto this book. Judging by your post, I am assuming you came across this book at one time or another. If you did, thanks for keeping this principle alive and letting other leaders know that it’s ok to make mistakes and fail at things, just as long when they do, they ask, “what did “I” do to cause this and “how” can “I” make sure that I do not fail or make this same mistake again.

  3. montyrainey says:

    Ken, I’m a fan of all of Miller’s books and QBQ is one of his best. I’ve also listened to a lot of Nighthingale’s recordings but don’t recall ever hearing “The Strangest Secret”. I’ll see if I can find it. Thanks for your input.

Leave a Reply

